Daily Archives: June 20, 2007

I can’t keep up!

It is now Wednesday morning at 7:30 a.m. and I am just getting around to this weekly column which is advertised to be published every Tuesday. I’ve been up since 5 a.m. this morning writing two other blog entries and I’m just about out of ideas.

People often ask me how I’m enjoying my retirement and my honest answer is that I am writing more now than I ever did when I was publishing the newspaper. I know I’m writing more than the average person can or would want to keep up with.

That’s alright, because I’m attempting to create different strokes for different folks. For example, the Clarion News Blog is intended to be written for a general audience that just wants to keep up with the latest developments in the Big Box War.

On the other hand, my campaign blog is more for political insiders who want to hear my latest musings on my campaign for Geneseo Town Supervisor. It is not for everybody, but I have had a few nice comments from those who are reading it regularly.

That leaves The Clarion Call, which used to be my flagship column but at least today seems like an afterthought. This column is intended to be a more blatantly opinionated take on local issues than would be found on the News Blog, but not another forum for my campaign.

Here I would like to include more in-depth analysis of important issues, but I don’t always have the energy. Another problem with retiring from the publishing rat race is that I have lost my sense of time.

For 18 years, my week was determined by the weekly publishing schedule and I always knew what day it was. It wasn’t until midnight last night, however, that I realized that Tuesday was over and I hadn’t even thought about a column.

Now that I have immersed myself in the 24/7 news cycle of online communication the pace can be exhausting. Please bear with me, I’m new here.

