Daily Archives: July 18, 2007

A farewell to farewells

For many years The Clarion newspaper took the third week of July off from publication. If I were still publishing the paper, this would be the column in which I explained to my readers that we would be gone for a week. Ah, the good old days . . .

Since I sold the newspaper in March, however, I can’t take the coming week off anymore. It turns out that blogging is a much more intense pursuit than publishing. Instead of the leisurely pace of putting out a paper once a week (with a nice summer vacation), I am now putting up stories 24/7/365, as they happen.

Blogging is exciting, but it is also exhausting, especially when you are responsible for four blogs. In addition to this weekly column, I have to make sure that Bill Lofquist makes his weekly deadline, keep the Clarion News Blog fresh, and in a moment of lunacy, I committed to write a daily campaign blog.

This latter has been the real killer. Some days you just don’t have the time or the energy to write, so my definition of daily has shrunk to about 5 days a week on average. Even so, I am now doing more writing than I did when I was in the newspaper business!

I suspect, like me, a lot of people are still recovering from the Geneseo Summer Festival this past weekend. It was a great weekend but it is also exhausting, even if you’re not doing much more than walking around.

Concrete is a very unforgiving substance. After walking up and down the sidewalks campaigning for most of the day Saturday, I was barely able to walk on Sunday. I particularly felt pain in my hips, which lingered into my Tuesday morning tennis match, even after I skipped the Monday basketball game.

Maybe my daughters were right! When I started building my clay tennis court last year they said it was a big waste of money. “You’ll probably break your hips in a few years anyway,” they told me.

With a little over two weeks to go before the Republican caucus I need to be out pounding on doors. I just need to avoid pounding the pavement. Please forgive me if I walk on your lawn!