Daily Archives: August 7, 2007

Time passes slowly up here in the mountains

On Sunday, I repaired to the Adirondacks for a few days of R & R after the frenetic run-up to Saturday’s caucus. Everything was so busy last week that for the first time in 17 years I had an unscheduled failure to publish this column. Sorry about that, but that’s the way politics can be!

On the other hand, I have managed to keep up with the Clarion News Blog by posting stories for a record five days in a row, including today’s report on Petitiongate. LC News Editor Mark Gillespie remarked to me recently that the perfect combination of news coverage for a small town would be a daily blog and a weekly newspaper. We just about have that now in Geneseo, at least as far as political coverage.

I received nice praise on my web efforts from Jean Lindsay of Geneseo. In a recent e-mail she wrote, “You have been wise in shifting your writing and observations to the Internet. Your news and on-line columns (guest and proprietary), continue to educate us in ways others simply cannot quite achieve due to lack of experience, depth of perception, analytical skill, and the ability to communicate effectively in the King’s English.”

Thank you Jean! Her admiration for my reporting skill may be one of the reasons that she supported Will Wadsworth in the caucus race. Perhaps she was afraid that politics would interfere with my blogging, although I think the opposite is true. It is only through my close involvement in the political process that I find out what’s going on.

I have received much encouragement from supporters to stay in the Supervisor’s race as an Independent, but one strong request that I don’t. That came from my fellow blogger and PDDG partner in crime Bill Lofquist. He urged me to devote my full-time efforts to helping PDDG fight the Lowes matter.

It’s tempting, but the pay doesn’t compare very well with the $38,000 a year that the Supervisor makes. I’ll make my friends in PDDG an offer, however. If you raise $38,000 for our coffers in the next two weeks, I’ll drop out of the race and do the job for half price! So get busy!

Seriously though, I will make no decision on whether to continue until after Wednesday’s Democrat caucus. I certainly have no desire to run as a spoiler and help re-elect Wes. On the other hand, I am not yet convinced of either Will’s, or recent entry Bob Wilcox’s, claims to be a true Smart Growth advocate.

In the meantime, I will enjoy another day of peaceful mountain pursuits before returning to the rough and tumble world of Geneseo politics. I am in a rustic cabin with no cell phone or Internet service. Luckily a short trip into town allows me to piggyback on the local library’s wireless Internet or I really would be out of the loop!

Time to go for my morning hike. See you tomorrow night at the caucus!

