Daily Archives: December 5, 2007

Presidential Follies

I was so busy with my own campaign for most of the year that I didn’t spend much time monitoring the national election. In fact, the first time I saw a Republican debate in October I didn’t even recognize half the candidates!

Now with the local elections over, and the weather turning nasty, I’ve spent the last couple of weeks catching up. I saw most of the Youtube Republican debate last week and could even recognize most of the candidates, although I still have trouble distinguishing between Duncan Hunter and Tom Tancredo, if there is a difference.

Last spring I signed up on the John McCain web site as a supporter and I’ve seen nothing since to change my conviction that he is the best qualified candidate. I understand that our state Republican Party has endorsed Giuliani and I can understand that having a Favorite Son may make sense from a local point of view.

Perhaps Rudy could make New York competitive, and that would help state Republicans in our bid to hold on to the State Senate and make inroads in the Assembly, but I’m not willing to play politics with our national future. That said, however, I certainly don’t find Giuliani to be anywhere near as objectionable as the demonic Mitt Romney who would probably make me take a hard look at Obama if they were both nominated.

And that has nothing to do with Mitt’s religion! I really don’t care what religion a candidate professes, in fact, I’d probably be more comfortable with an atheist. I don’t know much about Mormonism, but they must be on to something, because I’ve been to Utah many times and it would be hard to find a healthier or happier-looking population. Also, none of the local Mormons I’ve met have had horns, but there is something very insincere about Mitt that I fear would not wear well over the long run or with the national voters next year.

Of course, in the blogosphere Ron Paul looks like a shoe-in to win the Republican nomination, which probably just goes to show how far the blogging world is removed from reality. Take a look at the polls published at ElectionVine. Paul is leading on almost every web site that has a poll installed (even Facebook!) and overall he is pulling down about 3/4 of the online vote.

Granted these are not scientific surveys, but it is striking how different those results are from national polls that show Paul languishing in 6th place. The Real Clear Politics average of polls gives Paul just 4.7 per cent of the national vote. Having just come through a four-way race, I now know how hard these multi-candidate races can be. The 16 per cent I got for town supervisor would put in me in 2nd place in this race trailing only the 25.2 per cent support for Rudy.
Some believe that the breakthrough for Paul’s libertarian philosophy will come in the “Live Free or Die” state of New Hampshire. I guess it’s then or never, but I’m still hoping that New Hampshire will give a bounce to McCain who was just endorsed by the influential Manchester Union Leader.

Although I am mainly interested in my Republican contest, it does make a world of difference who we will oppose next year. Personally, I would rather run against Hillary because I believe her negatives are so high that she is the most beatable Democrat. John Edwards scares me for the same reasons as Mitt, but I must admit that Obama intrigues me. Anybody who is as good a pick-up basketball player as he is reported to be, can’t be all bad!