Daily Archives: January 29, 2008

Sticking to my knitting

In the last three election cycles I have run for office in Geneseo, but this year I am going to sit one out. There are a number of reasons for that, but the most important one is that I want to concentrate on getting my new graphic design and printing business, Genesee Graphics, off the ground.

Politics is a lot of fun, but it isn’t necessarily good for business. For one thing it takes a lot of time, at least the way I like to do it. If I were to run for village board, I would be spending most of the next two months banging on doors.

As much as I enjoy doing that, it doesn’t leave much time or energy for building up a new business. Beyond that, politics can be polarizing, and in this year of a great national election it will be even more so.

If I were to run with a party I would tick off half the people, and if I were to run as an independent, I would tick off members of both parties–not that that ever bothered me personally, but its probably not so helpful for business.

Beyond that, as pointed out by Planning Board attorney Joe Picciotti last night, there is a good likelihood that there will be litigation this year over the Newman PDD application. While I personally hope that it doesn’t come to that, I don’t want to be Pollyanna either.

If litigation does come, there is a good chance that PDDG, the organization I founded, will be in the middle of it. Not only will this be very time consuming, but it would put me in a very awkward position if I were on the village board and involved in a lawsuit against the town.

Although this may not be a real conflict of interest, it could certainly be portrayed that way by political opponents (Just ask Bill Lofquist!) Accordingly, I believe the perception that I might be involved in such litigation would hurt my electoral chances right now anyway.

So I will sit this on out, stick to my knitting and my bloggin’, and work to see that the right decisions are made by the town planning board and the town board so that litigation can be avoided. That seems like enough for one person.

As for endorsements, I will be looking to support the candidates (regardless of party) who will seriously address the three big issues in Geneseo: traffic, traffic and traffic!

And BTW, Attention candidates of all parties: See Genesee Graphics for quality designs and a good price on all your campaigning needs including brochures and lawn signs!

