‘Tennistock 09’: Be there Man!

TSlogoIn honor of the 40th Anniversary of Woodstock, the Genesee Volley Tennis Club will be holding Tennistock ’09, billed as “a Love-in.” Of course, since it is a tennis club, you may not want to take that too literally. In any case you, dear reader, are invited to attend on August 23 from 2-10 pm. I guarantee that you do not have to be a tennis player (or even like tennis) to have a good time!

On the program are the finals of our Club Doubles Tournament at 2 pm, games of tennis skill, croquet and other lawn sports from 4-6 pm, a catered BBQ dinner at 6 pm (featuring veggies grown chemical free on Free Soil Farm) and live music by Buzzo’s All-Stars from 7-10 pm. The price is only $15 per person and children 12 and under are free!

The purpose of this event is to give club members and the community a fun End-of Summer party, show off our beautiful club facility, and raise a little money for a worthy cause. A portion of the proceeds will be donated to Teresa House the comfort care home in Geneseo. Many tennis players remember the fine care that one of our own, Fred Bright, received there last year.

If you wish to attend, simply download the reservation form here. The form also allows you to reserve a commemorative t-shirt, but hurry! The deadline to order chicken dinners and t-shirts is Monday Aug. 17!

Now about our facility. Many volunteers (especially Bill Lofquist) and I have been busy this summer building a lawn tennis court and clearing the wilderness that had grown up around the former formal garden at Hartford House. In reading up on the art of growing creeping bentgrass I learned that the biggest mistake that golf course make is not cutting down enough trees.

Not wanting to make that mistake, I had loggers come and remove 10 large trees around the new court. Once we began to see the spectacular view of the Valley we were spurred on to remove the remaining smaller trees and brush that had grown up.

All this and my duties as GVTC club President and operator of Free Soil Farm and the Word of Mouth Market have kept me from writing in this blog since June. I’m sorry for my few faithful readers who have been missing me, but I don’t promise to return to weekly postings anytime soon. I’m just too busy!

If you want to know what’s going on with me, the farm or the club, you’ll just have to come to the party and ask me in person! Be there Man!

P.S. It should probably go without saying, but people are encouraged to wear their funkiest 1960s attire to Tennistock.

3 responses to “‘Tennistock 09’: Be there Man!

  1. I am VERY surprised to see that you only have a chicken dinner listed and not a secondary vegetarian options! How about some BBQ tofu??

  2. Good suggestion! I’ll work on that, but vegetarians should rest assured that there will be plenty of veggies from the Free Soil Farm including sweet corn and salt potatoes!

  3. Corrin, I will continue to contribute to your wonderful blog where I have chatted with you for a couple of years. If people are blog blue from missing you and want to hook up with a friend in between your blogs, I am at samandimp.wordpress.com with essays on just about everything – more national than local. For that reason, I’ll continue here – I’m a local yokel. See you at the great Tennis event the 23rd.

Leave a Reply

